Skip to content

Frugal Fun: “I’m the witch!”

September 23, 2011

With $1 you can buy a JBC from Wendy’s, less than 1/3 of a gallon of gas or do what I did and make a Frugal Fun purchase that will bring your child endless amounts of creative play and, for my daughter, spellbinding adventure.

Over the weekend I bought this polka dot witch hat from Dollar Discount in Paintsville, KY for, you guessed it, one buck. My spontaneous purchase was inspired by Delilah’s fascination with the Harry Potter films, her love of the game The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time‘s witch twins Kotake and Koume (a.k.a. Twinrova) as well as her desire to watch Hocus Pocus*, which is the next movie scheduled to arrive via our Netlfix…er…Qwikster DVD queue. (WARNING: If you are not down with the Sanderson sisters and a young Agent McGee, then kindly navigate away from this blog.)

This witch hat surprise prompted hours of throwing imaginary fireballs at Grandmom’s dog, Sampson (I know what you’re thinking, “Sampson and Delilah?!” Yes, I’m aware. Har-har), perfecting her spooky laugh and flying through the air with a little help from a broom, some “fairy dust” and my husband’s upper body strength.

The moral? You don’t have to pour out your pockets in order to entertain your child. Simplicity will bring smiles—like the one on Delilah’s face—to both you and your child just as easily as extravagance. “Imagination is the highest kite one can fly (author unknown),” or in this case, the highest broom.

Watch the clip below to see Delilah making full use of her new head ornament while enchanting us all with her kiddie cackle. Oh, and enjoy my Southern drawl.

Mood: Magical

Currently listening to: Ween – “Voodoo Lady”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 2:53 AM

    She’s so cute!

  2. September 24, 2011 1:12 AM

    She’s a cutie! My kind of girl! I did that when I was a kid. I also braided the mop’s “hair”.

  3. Danielle Franklin permalink
    September 28, 2011 9:18 AM

    “You’re not a Bruja?” haha. Very cute.

Leave a Reply

